Here are my choices for best songs at the 1992 Eurovision Song Contest, which was held in Malmö, Sweden on May 9. Except for the winning entry from Ireland, I had not heard any of these songs until now.

My Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 Greece “Olou Tou Kosmou I Elpida”, Cleopatra 5
2 Italy “Rapsodia”, Mia Martini 4
3 Cyprus “Teriazoume” , Evridiki 11
4 Finland “Yamma, yamma”, Pave Maijanen 23
5 France “Monté la riviè”, Kali 8
6 Norway “Visjoner”, Merethe Trøan 18
7 Ireland “Why Me?”, Linda Martin 1
8 Yugoslavia “Ljubim te pesmama”, Extra Nena 13
9 Israel “Ze Rak Sport”, Dafna Dekel 6
10 Denmark “Alt det som ingen ser”, Kenny Lübcke & Lotte Nilsson 12

It was a tough decision between Greece and Italy; both had very good songs, with Italy’s Mia Martini delivering a passionate, heartrending ballad. But I’m a sucker for good modulation, and the unexpected F#m chord in the Greek chorus is what stuck in my head and tipped the scales in its favor.

Cyprus awarded 12 points to Greece, but Greece gave 12 points to Ireland, and 10 to Cyprus.

