Iceland has twelve excellent songs competing in Söngvakeppnin 2015 for the honor of going to Eurovision, and much like with the Estonians, there’s a good diversity of music.  My average score for the Icelandic songs was 3.92 (on a 5-point scale), and so it was a difficult task ranking them, especially as I am always debating between the songs I like and the songs I think would do well at Eurovision (not always the same). My guess is a ballad sung by one of the ladies will go to Vienna, but there are a couple of dark horses: the selection of either the offbeat techno of “Fjaðrir” by SUNDAY (somewhat reminiscent of Norway’s 2013 entry, “I Feed You My Love” performed by Margaret Berger) or the irresistable Kylie Minogue-esque dance beat of “Fyrir alla” by CADEM could happen.

My Rank Title, Artist Semifinal Final
1 “Brotið gler” (Shattered glass) , Bjarni Lárus Hall  SF2 – eliminated
2 “Milljón augnablik” (A million moments) , Haukur Heiðar Hauksson SF2 – qualified
3 “Þú leitar líka að mér” (You’re also searching for me) , HINEMOA SF1 – eliminated
4 “Augnablik” (Moment) , Stefanía Svavarsdóttir SF1 – eliminated
5 “Fjaðrir” (Feathers), SUNDAY SF2 – qualified
6 “Myrkrið hljótt” (Silent darkness) , Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir SF1 – eliminated
7 “Aldrei of seint” (Never too late) , Regína Ósk SF2 – eliminated
8 “Fyrir alla” (For everyone) , CADEM SF2 – qualified
9 “Piltur og stúlka” (Boys and girls) , Björn og félagar SF1 – qualified
10 “Í kvöld” (Tonight) , Elín Sif Halldórsdóttir SF1 – qualified

There will be two semi-finals held in Iceland on January 31 and February 7; I will update this page with the results on those dates. Good luck and “Gangi þér vel!” to all the participants in Söngvakeppnin 2015.  The 2015 Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Vienna, Austria on May 19, 21, and 23, 2015.

February 16 2015 update: none of my top ten choices were chosen to represent Iceland! Instead, María Ólafsdóttir will perform “Unbroken” (original Icelandic title, “Lítil skref”) at the second semi-final on May 21 in Vienna. Good luck, María!

