Someone once asked on Twitter what countries would we like to visit based solely on the quality of their Eurovision Song Contest entries. I listed Netherlands, Portugal, Finland, Turkey, and now am happy to add Estonia to the list. Estonia, after all, is the home of the Estonian Song Celebration and The Singing Revolution, as documented in the 2006 film of the same name and also the documentary To Breathe As One.  Estonia will also be choosing its entry in the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest at its Eesti Laul (“The Song of Estonia”), which will be held in February.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear the diversity of songs competing in Eesti Laul. There were the typical Eurovision pop songs, but also rock, alternative, folk, and even American-style country. Usually when I watch Eurovision, I rate each song on a scale from 1 (worst) to 5 (best). I then take all the songs that scored four points or higher and arrange them in order of favorites. Out of Eurovision’s usual 26, there are about twelve or so songs that I have scored thusly, but with the songs from Eesti Laul, the average score was 4! Even though six songs scored fewer than 4 points, there wasn’t a stinker in the whole bunch (question: will these songs be released on a CD?). So that made choosing my favorites a little tough!

At this point I’d like to say, because I’ve gotten some flak over the years for my, shall we say “unconventional” choices, that I do make a distinction between the songs I like and the songs likely to win in Eurovision. I loved Georgia’s 2014 jazz/folk entry “Three Minutes to Earth” performed by The Shin & Mariko, but knew it would not even come close to winning: in fact, it came second to last out of both semi-finals that year.

With that in mind, here are my choices for the ten best songs from Eesti Laul. Elisa Kolk’s “Superlove” finished 11th on my list, but it’s my choice for most likely to win at Eurovision.

My Rank Title, Artist Semifinal  1 Semifinal 2 Final
“Superlove”, Elisa Kolk qualified eliminated
1 “Minu Päike” (My Sun), Luisa Värk qualified eliminated
2 “Light Up Your Mind”, Wilhelm eliminated
3 “Kohvitassi Lugu” (Coffee Cup Story), Miina eliminated
4 “Saatuse laul” (Song of Destiny), Airi Vipulkumar Kansar eliminated
5 “Kellega ma Tutvusin?” (Whom Did I Meet?), NimmerSchmidt eliminated
6 “Kuum” (Hot), Demie feat. Janice eliminated
7 “Kordumatu” (Unique), Bluestocking eliminated
8 “Unriddle Me”, Elephants from Neptune qualified eliminated
9 “Tiiu talu tütreke” (Farmgirl Tiiu), Kruuv eliminated
10 “Exceptional”, The Blurry Lane qualified eliminated

The semi-finals at Eesti Laul will be held on February 7th and 14th, and I will update this page after each one.  Good luck and “Edu kõigile!” to all the participants in Eesti Laul.

 

February 24, 2015 update:  I was disappointed to learn that none of my choices were chosen to represent Estonia at Eurovision!  But the song that was chosen, “Goodbye To Yesterday”, is a good one and I wish its performers Elina Born & Stig Rästa the best of luck!

