Here are my choices for best songs at the 1998 Eurovision Song Contest. Except for the winning entry from Israel, I had not heard any of these songs until now.

My Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 Netherlands “Hemel en aarde”, Edsilia 4
2 Macedonia “Ne zori, zoro”, Vlado Janevski 19
3 Hungary “A holnap már nem lesz szomorú”, Charlie 23
4 France “Où aller”, Marie Line 24
5 United Kingdom “Where Are You?”, Imaani 2
6 Israel “Diva”, Dana International 1
7 Belgium “Dis oui”, Mélanie Cohl 6
8 Cyprus “Genesis”, Michael Hajiyanni 11
9 Sweden “Kärleken är”, Jill Johnson 10
10 Slovakia “Modlitba”, Katarína Hasprová 21

Out of all the contests I’ve seen so far, this is the fourth time Netherlands has been my favorite (I’ve also chosen France four times). There must be quite a pop music scene in both countries!

