Here are my choices for best songs at the 1990 Eurovision Song Contest. I’d heard the Italian entry before but not the other songs.

My Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 France “White and Black Blues”, Joëlle Ursull 2
2 Turkey “Gözlerinin Hapsindeyim”, Kayahan feat. Demet Sağıroğlu 17
3 Norway “Brandenburger Tor”, Ketil Stokkan 21 (tie)
4 Netherlands “Ik wil alles met je delen”, Maywood 15
5 Denmark “Hallo Hallo”, Lonnie Devantier 8
6 Belgium “Macédomienne”, Philippe Lafontaine 12
7 Cyprus “Milas Poli”, Haris Anastasiou 14
8 Spain “Bandido”, Azúcar Moreno 5
9 Portugal “Há sempre alguém”, Nucha 20
10 Yugoslavia “Hajde da ludujemo”, Tajči 7

Cyprus and Greece did not give each other 12 points. Cyprus gave 12 to the winning entry, and Greece gave 12 to Switzerland.

This was also one of the rare occasions when the winning song at Eurovision did not make my top 10 (other years include 1984 and 1987). It’s not that I didn’t like “Insieme: 1992” (performed by Toto Cutugno), it just didn’t grab me in any significant way.

