Here are my choices for best songs at the 1975 Eurovision Song Contest.  I’d heard the Dutch entry before but not the other songs.

My Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 Turkey “Seninle Bir Dakika”, Semiha Yankı 19
2 Germany “Ein Lied kann eine Brücke sein”, Joy Fleming 17
3 Italy “Era”, Wess and Dori Ghezzi 3
4 Finland “Old Man Fiddle”, Pihasoittajat 7
5 Monaco “Une chanson c’est une lettre”, Sophie 14
6 Netherlands “Ding-a-dong”, Teach-In 1
7 United Kingdom “Let Me Be The One”, The Shadows 2
8 Norway “Touch My Life (With Summer)”, Ellen Nikolaysen 18
9 Switzerland “Mikado”, Simone Drexel 6
10 Luxembourg “Toi”, Geraldine 5

Turkey made its debut in 1975 but finished in last place! Ironically, I thought Turkey had the best song by far that year. I also thought the German entry was outstanding, but it finished in 17th place out of 19 entries. What was with the judges that year?

The scoreboard was particularly smart looking–minimal yet striking, and easy to read.  It looked like something you’d see in a really cool airport.
esc1975scoreboard

