Here are my choices for the 1988 Eurovision Song Contest; I’d only heard the entry from Switzerland before watching the entire contest online.

My Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 Belgium “Laissez briller le soleil”, Reynaert 18 (tie)
2 Ireland “Take Him Home”, Jump The Gun 8
3 Switzerland “Ne partez pas sans moi”, Céline Dion 1
4 Sweden “Stad i ljus”, Tommy Körberg 12 (tie)
5 Luxembourg “Croire”, Lara Fabian 4
6 Germany “Lied für einen Freund”, Maxi & Chris Garden 14
7 United Kingdom “Go”, Scott Fitzgerald 2
8 Norway “For vår jord”, Karoline Krüger 5
9 Portugal “Voltarei”, Dora 18 (tie)
10 Denmark “Ka’ du se hva’ jeg sa’?”, Hot Eyes 3

Usually, as I watch these contests, a handful of songs stand out and then I have to decide which is my favorite, but from the moment I heard “Laissez briller le soleil”, sung by Reynaert (aka Joseph Reynaerts) and composed by Reynaert, Dany Willem, and Philippe Anciaux, I knew it would be my favorite. I’d love to hear a singer like Alison Moyet or Adele cover this someday!

