Just made a shopping expedition to Los Angeles and this is what I bought!

Store Purchases
Amoeba Music
6400 Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90028
Take Me To The Land of Hell, Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band

Warp and Weft, Laura Veirs

満ち汐のロマンス (Michishio no Romansu, “Tide Flow Romance”), Ego-Wrappin’

Kiss Me Once, Kylie Minogue

6 Feet Beneath The Moon, King Krule

The Take Off and Landing of Everything, Elbow

Bish Bosch, Scott Walker

Preachers (The Unreleased Works 1969-1980), Svein Finnerud Trio

Vroman’s Bookstore
695 E Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91101
Max Ernst, Ulrich Bischoff (Taschen)

Type on Screen, edited by Ellen Lupton (Princeton Architectural Press)

Canterbury Records
6400 Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90028
Hotel Valentine, Cibo Matto

I also dined with old friends at Dino’s Pizza (3520 W Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505) and at Porto’s Bakery (3614 W Magnolia Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505), both of which I highly recommend.

Also on my CD shopping list but I didn’t find them:  FKA Twigs, Safety Scissors, Emilíana Torrini, SSION, and No Regular Play.

sveinThe Svein Finnerud Trio album is what I call my “Dan Purchase”, named after my friend Dan who seems to own every album ever released.  Frequently he buys an album just because he likes the cover.  Every time I go to Amoeba I always make it a point to do a “Dan Purchase”.  This album was only $4, and the band consists of a pianist, double bassist, and drummer.  I’m hoping they are similar to the Tord Gustavsen Trio.

