I never did post my choices for the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest to my blog, only my Twitter account, and then only my top 5 (instead of my usual 10), so here they are:

Rank Country Title, Artist Eurovision Final Ranking
1 Switzerland “In Love for a While”, Anna Rossinelli 25
2 Serbia “Čaroban”, Nina 14
3 Denmark “New Tomorrow”, A Friend in London 5
4 Iceland “Coming Home”, Sjonni’s Friends 20
5 Italy “Madness of Love”, Raphael Gualazzi 2

The 2011 contest was the first one I’d watched since 1979, and I was absolutely dismayed that my choice for best song came in last place!  I’m also surprised I didn’t include “Love in Rewind” by Dino Merlin (Bosnia & Herzegovina) in my top 5, as it’s one of the best songs to ever come out of ESC.  It’s tricky choosing one’s favorite songs:  on the one hand, well-written songs are not necessarily catchy songs, and vice versa.  “Dancing Lasha Tumbai” by Verka Serduchka (Ukraine 2007) is catchy as heck but too repetitive to be a “well-written” song.  Even defining “good songwriting” can be tricky–sometimes I’m in the mood for something sweet and sentimental, other times I’m in the mood for something that’s more innovative.  Obviously when I made my choices for 2011, I was in the mood for sweet and sentimental.

