The second semifinal of Eurovision 2013 was better than the first–there weren’t any songs that made me cringe! It also looked like they toned down some of the camera tricks. Alas, my top two favorite songs (Israel and San Marino) did not make it to the final, for which I’m very disappointed. The singer from Israel (Moran Mazor) seemed far more mature and accomplished a singer than her 22 years would suggest. Here are my top five choices, in order:

Rank Country Title, Artist
1 Israel “Rak Bishvilo”, Moran Mazor
2 San Marino “Crisalide (Vola)”, Valentina Monetta
3 Finland “Marry Me”, Krista Siegfrids
4 Switzerland “You and Me”, Takasa
5 Romania “It’s My Life”, Cezar

Finland and Romania made it to the finals, as did Azerbaijan, Malta, Iceland, Greece, Armenia, Hungary, Norway, and Georgia.

Watch this blog for my report on the big finale happening this Saturday! And follow me on Twitter @jogolandgroup to read my tweets live!

