I was sending an email to a friend, telling him about my Jogovision Song Contest project.  A few days after I had sent it, I reread what I had written and thought it sounded a bit like a manifesto!  It’s not just about me as a creative person, but the manner in which I like to work with others:

… it’s just to give you an idea of what I do when I’m in my element and just thoroughly enjoying myself and working my butt off.  I did everything you see here:  wrote and arranged the songs, recorded them, designed and made the costumes, created the special effects, designed the website, etc.  It was a lot of hard work and frustrating at times, but this is the kind of stuff I live for.  It’s not that I’m a great singer or anything like that (though I daresay I know how to write a song), but that I’m a creative guy who just runs with whatever idea I come up with, and really enjoys a challenge and working with my hands.  I had a little help on a couple of these vids (cameramen for Israel and Russia), and I felt right at home delegating tasks, not in a dictatorial way, but in a way I hoped made the process enjoyable and inspiring.  I like to inspire people.  When I used to do choreography, I loved it when my dancers asked questions (i.e., they were curious and interested, and not just following orders) or when I explained what I was after and I saw the light bulbs go off in their heads.  I wanted them to be part of the [process], not just my puppets, and the same happened when I did my videos with the cameramen.

I included a link to the contest recap on YouTube:

