“When you start thinking that something is indispensable in your life, then it is time, I believe, that you should try to go without it.  I often try to take myself out of my own comfort zone in case one day I am shipwrecked and have to fend for myself on a desert island.  I want to be intelligent and practised in finding some ingenuous way of managing without any of the things that might be considered necessary.”

“Nowadays, we are supposed to search on the internet and the Kindle everything that has ever been published.  It’s all so mechanically boring and unthinking that it turns the modern man into something of a robot.  It also creates the howler that instant access to almost infinite information is knowledge itself.  Of course it ain’t.  You don’t have to be Robinson Crusoe to realise that someone who is permanently reliant on the internet would soon die on the desert island, either through ignorance or, more likely, sheer boredom of having a vacuous memory bank.” 

–Sir David Tang, in Financial Times, July 7-8, 2012 edition, responding to two different questions (one about traveling with “essentials”, the other about Amazon.com vs. small bookshops).

